DIY Friday – Grow your own green onions!

by Andi

I had a very clever post planned for today regarding holiday planning, but I haven’t had time to really pull my ideas together, so that will be in the works for next week.  This week we have how to grow green onions in just water.

Apparently, all you have to do is just take the little white ends of your green onions (at least a half inch) and stick them in a cup of water and presto, they will grow!  I actually accidentally started this project yesterday when I cut the tops off my onions for my taco meat.  I knew that you could replant the bottoms, so I stuck them in a glass with about a half inch of water at the bottom to keep them alive until I got some dirt.  Now, apparently dirt is not needed.  :-)

Look!  They are already starting to grow again.  And apparently they don’t need much sun, since my kitchen counter is far removed from a window of any sort, not that any of my windows get direct sunlight anyway (which is why, unfortunately, I think my butt plant is in its death throes).

So that’s all there is to it!  You have to change the water every other day or so, and you might only get one or two additional batches out of them, but even still that’s pretty cool.  :-)  Finding ways to be self sufficient is a big part of living life on the cheap and quick.

Hope everyone is having a fun and safe Friday night.  Sorry this post is happening so late.  I think I’m going to watch an episode of South Park and then hit the hay.  I did two two-mile runs today, so I am pooped.

 

